Throughout my educational and working life, I have forever been a pessimistic, I always have doubt looming over my mind and always worried where the next event or action will take me.

It wasn’t until my last year of university this negative mind set really had taken it’s toll. I began to struggle what it was I was planning to do with my degree, and although I enjoyed my course, I began to feel increasingly concerned that degree was going to lead me down a narrow career path.

Trying to be as optimistic as I could I began researching, to see what else interested me and was more fitting to me as a career. Least to say the results were not great.

With all this negative worry about life after university brought about a lot of troubling issues and began to show signs of severe anxiety. Let me clear this up, anxiety is not the same for every soul it takes, it effects everyone differently.

I began to miss university, skip sessions with class mates, and avoid tutors.

Self-doubt was the main problem of all of this, “I’m not good enough to do this or that, I don’t have enough experience, I should of done this.”  They were a lot of shoulda, coulda, woulda’s.

With all this in my mind set I was diagnosed with dyslexia, at the age of 23. Now you might think how did she not know? As a child I loved reading, and still do, my writing was never strong but I never stopped trying. Life had thrown me a curve ball and I didn’t take it lightly.

So…. With all this happening I had to still continue, otherwise another shoulda or coulda would have appeared. I realised that I wasn’t so alone, beginning to talk to other colleagues, students, and professionals, there were a good handful that felt just as lost as me at this point in my educational career.

I started to understand that the skills I have are just as worthwhile, and that wording and explaining your comptencies was another skill I would have to master.

Self-doubt, is horrible, it drags you down when you least suspect it, and can lead to many other mental illness troubles.

This is why I have created this blog,  to help you understand you, your career choice is a major factor in an adults life, if you are unsure what it is you like, let alone how you work then it is extremely difficult to find the right job for you.

Leave a Reply

